Top 5 Hopes for Tonight’s Nintendo Switch Direct!

-by Dylan D

Despite what I said in my Axiom Verge review, I love Nintendo and they’re probably still up there as my all time favorite video game developers. Although I’m a little skeptical of Switch and truly think it’ll make or break Nintendo, I’m excited.

I’m still on the fence on if I’ll pick up a Switch at launch, so here are five things that would persuade me to pick up a Switch on Day One.

5. Switch/Zelda Release Date:

Image result for breath of the wild

Guys, Zelda has and always will be my favorite franchise of all time. I can’t wait anymore for Breath of the Wild! Every time I look at pictures like the one above I foam at the mouth. I’m not sure how I feel about all the clothes and breakable weapons, but asides from that it seems like Nintendo is crafting a real open world. By that I mean, chopping down trees, sailing, paragliding- it’s all your’s to do. It feels oraganic. Now I’m not quite sure if I’d get it on the Switch or the Wii U (leaning towards Wii U), but you know what would help me decide?

A release date for Breath of the Wild and the Switch needs to be announced tonight.I’m hearing March 2017 and that sounds like a dream come true, but it’s Nintendo and lately they’ve been teaching me not to dream when it comes to them.

 

4. Better Online

Image result for mii

Even though I appreciate not paying for it, it’s time to wake up and smell the coffee. Nintendo. Either ditch the basic Mii’s or give us a new form of virtual identity. Make it easier for us to find each other. Basically, just give me an easy and open format like the PS4 has and I’m happy.

This is the online age, do I really have to say it? Enough with the ancient friend codes and whatnot. A huge audience would be attracted to the Switch if they could easily play with friends, even more if Nintendo added their equivalent to trophies and achievements.

 

3. More Third-Party Support

Image result for rockstar logo

Finally Nintendo has a lot of support from third-party developers, much like the old days. But I still feel like they need a little bit more, specifically Rockstar. Come on, who doesn’t want a portable Red Dead Redemption 2? Even though I’m sure it’s impossible to run on the hardware, I’m excited and slightly hopeful.

 

2. Metroid/Long Awaited Sequel

Image result for metroid

Again, if you haven’t seen my previous post on Axiom Verge, check it out because I discuss my love for Metroid, specifically the 2D games. But hey- if a new 3D Metroid is announced then I’m all for it; it might even give me a chance to give Prime it’s billionth chance with me.

But I’m not just limited this to Metroid, any long awaited sequel people have been waiting for from Nintendo. Whether it be another F-Zero, Super Mario RPG 2, anything dream-worthy that seems unlikely to be announced; imagine it’s going to be announced tonight.

 

1. Good Price

Image result for nintendo switch

If Nintendo makes the same blunder they did with the 3DS and Wii U, they won’t make a cent. This console needs to repeat what the original Wii did, appeal to hardcore fans and the casual fans while being easy to buy thanks to a small price. If the Switch starts at $249 my chances of buying one immediately skyrocket. If it’s $299 then I’m fifty-fifty. It’s it’s $399, well sorry Switch but I’m getting the Wii U version of Breath of the Wild.

This one is not only huge for me personally, but for Nintendo who I really want to succeed with this new system.

_________________________________________________________________

Either way guys, thanks for reading and what do you hope to see be announced tonight? I hope you’re all excited!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Hopes for Tonight’s Nintendo Switch Direct!

  1. Point 3 is an interesting one. The Wii U had a number of companies claiming they would develop for it before pulling out as the console’s life cycle continued (or faded out depending on your perspective). I think some people will want to see solid release dates for major third party releases this time around.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Nintendo Drank the Kool-Aid and Why That’s Okay | PlayingWithThoughts

Leave a Reply

