Top 5 Wii U Games!

If you’ve missed my nostalgic farewell to the Wii U, check out my last post here. The Wii meant a lot to me because it’s what really got me into Nintendo. I had a 3DS, but the Wii U was the first console I had from the company; with it’s backwards compatability and Virtual Console, there really is no better system to get if you want to get into Nintendo. What five games made a Wii U so worth it to me?! Let’s see…

Sorry Wind Waker and Twilight Princess you amazing games, no remakes on this list!

5. Splatoon
Image result for splatoon

It’s not always that Nintendo invited a cast of new characters and aesthetics to join to likes of Mario and Link. Quite possibly Nintendo’s biggest and most innovative move on the Wii U was: Splatoon.

It’s really cool to see how the family friendly company tries to tackle to big genres known for the ‘tough-guys’. Shooters, shooters, shooters, that’s all we see today honestly. Luckily for us Nintendo decided to spice it up with colors, and lot’s of them!

I love Splatoon because it was the pinnacle Wii U experience. If you didn’t have this game for Wii U, you missed out on some fun times! I met some great people online and we played Splatoon together for hours. And even with no voice chat or even playing solo, Splatoon was fun. The quick three minute matches made it feel like no time was being wasted and victory was always on the line. While everyone else in the gaming world was playing Call of Duty, it felt like a special couple of million were playing Splatoon, and that was nice. Needless to say, I’m excited for Splatoon 2.

4. Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

Image result for donkey kong tropical freeze

I’m sorry my fellow game-lovers but I don’t like the original SNES Donkey Kong Country games! They feel heavy and slow, and kinda BS at times. Tropical Freeze however, I dig this game a lot. First off- it’s gorgeous. The 2D perspective does nothing to lessen the graphical spectacle that is Tropcial Freeze. The conflicting environments of tropical islands, viking ships and ice make for some unique sights.

Speaking of uniqueness, the levels feel new and unlike the current 2D Mario games, the levels in Tropical Freeze felt original. Sure there were the returning ideas like the mine cart, whatever- everything in Tropical Freeze was simply fun. It wasn’t a game that handed you everything, it was still tough but it always gave you just enough to make it feel like the next level was possible.

I didn’t really appreciate this game until my second time giving it a chance, and I’m so glad I did.

AND THAT MUSIC.

3. Super Mario 3D World

Image result for super mario 3d world

 

If you’re looking for a Super Mario 64-esque game on the Wii U- sorry!

Despite it’s title, 3D world is more of a hybrid of 2D and 3D platformers.

 

Some people may be disappointed that Nintendo didn’t go for another Galaxy or whatever, but mind you, the Wii U/3DS period was a weird time for them. They really combined old series’ with new and exciting ideas to try and bring people in.

Man oh man did this game give me and my friends hours upon hours of fun! Collecting all the green stars, the time trials- God there’s so many collectibles. Then there’s the hidden worlds and levels. Once again the music and presentation is on top.Each of the five playable characters have their own unique perks which makes for fun moments like:

“Wait! I’m Peach, I’ll float over and get the green star, stay here and take down the Koopas!”

If you get even one friend to play with you- do it. Super Mario 3D World has given me some of the best couch co-op memories I’ve ever had.

2. Super Smash Bros for Wii U

Image result for super smash bros wii u

I wasn’t quite sure if I should put Smash up this high. While I love this game so much, it doesn’t do much for me alone. Instead, Super Smash Bros is a social game.

Over 300 hours I’ve spent in settling it in Smash. Remember what I said about 3D World giving me tons of couch multiplayer memories? Double that and you got Smash! This is the game to own for a Wii U. People joke about their Xbox Ones and PS4s becoming Netflix machines, well for a while my Wii U was a Smash machine.

Trying out all the new characters was a blast, and the new physics felt perfect. Without a doubt this new iteration of Smash is my favorite. So many sleepovers, so many battles, so many laughs. Smash Bros is quite unlike any other fighting game, it’s special.

Honorable Mentions:

Pikmin 3 – A super fun, quirky and beautiful adventure game. I loved the puzzles, survival elements and collectibles. Really fun with a friend!

Captain Toad Treasure Tracker – Probably the most clever Wii U game and the one to take the most advantage of the gamepad, I need to go back and finish it; the presentation was adorable!

Mario Kart 8 – For most people this would be high up on a Top 5 Wii U games list, maybe even number one. Only reason it didn’t make it for me is I’ve played Mario Kart a bunch before and the anti-gravity while really cool, didn’t make it feel new enough to be on here. My favorite Mario Kart!

Wind Waker and Twilight Princess HD – IF YOU HAVE NOT PLAYED THESE GAMES, PLAY THEM. SERIOUSLY.

 

 

And now…..

The Swan Song…….

1. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Image result for breath of the wild

I’ll keep it brief since I plan to do a review or something for this game soon. Breath of the Wild has given me a lot of conflicting thoughts about game design. There are so many good things in this game; the feeling of wonder and excitement, a sense of improvement and discovery. At times it really feels like Nintendo achieved their goal in recapturing the original NES Zelda spirit.

Playing on the Wii U, it runs perfectly fine. There are frame rate drops with large swarms of enemies or big towns of people, but overall it performs well. This pushes the system to it’s very limits and truly felt like the next gen system people wanted from the Wii U.

I mean- who would’ve thought we’d have a game over four times the size of freaking Skyrim on the Wii U?! And Bethesda says it wouldn’t have worked on Wii U….

It’s not a perfect game don’t get me wrong, but Breath of the Wild perfectly summed up the Wii U/3DS era for Nintendo: experimentation. It’s the quintessential single-player experience on the system and even though I haven’t seen the credit roll, I’m confident in these words.

________________________________________________________________

As always, thank you for reading my friends. Let me know what your favorite Wii U game is! Happy Sunday!

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wii U Games!

  1. It always amazes me what games people pick for a top 5 or 10 list, because it’s just so hard to pick a couple. Especially if you’ve spent countless hours gamin, Breath of the wind, DK Tropical Freeze, Splatoon, these are all truly great games, personally for me ranking the would be incredible hard. Ultimately ranking doesn’t really matter though, just the memories and joy you get while playing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing games on your list! And the swan song being Breath of the Wild. Wonderful! My favorite games have been Xenoblade Chronicles X (the other open-worlder), Super Mario Maker, and Super Smash Bros. I would also say Breath of the Wild, since I’m sure the Wii U version is just as great as the Switch version. Besides, it’s technically a Wii U game, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

