Death Note: Live Adaption Done Right?

-by Dylan DiBona

It seems that every three to five years we’re trapped in a cycle of scary impending live action adaptions of our favorite animated series. Usually there are three types of people in this situation:

A.) The one who “knows” it’s going to be terrible.

B.) The one who is so against it as a whole they refuse to even see it.

C.) The one who decides to give it a chance because it looks like it has a chance of decency.

I’m currently in the last group. When I woke up this morning I was greeted by a trailer for the new Death Note Netflix adaptation.

As a serious fan of the original anime, I’m skeptical but hopeful of this new form of Death Note. See I thought that Death Note was the greatest story I’ve ever been told, until the final quarter of it’s run time. Most likely being the minority here, I’m anxious to see what changes will be coming to this tale.

People online have already cleverly spotted a handful of differences and they’re not ones I’m entirely against. At the end of the day, I’m curious- not bitter. However we have to ask ourselves why this keeps happening? Who’s asking for it? Does Netflix remember these:

Image result for dragonball evolution  Image result for airbender movie

Or most recently, the Assassins Creed live action movie that bombed last holiday season. Who knows why Hollywood is insisting on making these movie. Netflix has brought some quality original content to my brain and eyes (Bojack Horseman, Daredevil, Master of None and even Fuller House). Can they do it this time? Can they break the curse of bad live adaptations?

I believe they can’t, but I’m very hopeful, for Death Note’s sake.

If you haven’t yet; you owe to yourself to watch Death Note. Anime fan or not, it’s a story worth hearing.

_________________________________________________________________

So what do you guys think? Are we destined for another bad live adaption? Did you like the original Death Note? Leave your thoughts below! As always, thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Death Note: Live Adaption Done Right?

  1. I’m also in the last group. Though I’m somewhat excited to see it, whether or not it’s good. Death Note is my favorite anime, and a live-action show won’t change that. As a fan, I can’t help but want to see how a different creative mind handles it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

