Fahrenheit 451 Review

-by Dylan DiBona

I know this is gaming website first, I’ll never forget that. Seeing as I’m trying to keep this site as a safe haven for more thoughtful and in-depth writing of video games; I decided that every now and then I’d like to talk about famous writing, more specifically books. Video games go well with books because both forms of entertainment take a certain level of imagination and energy.

Today we’ll be taking a look at the English classic, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.
Image result for fahrenheit 451

I like the concept of dystopian worlds almost too much. Something about a world turned upside-down, where everything seems so wrong, but to the inhabitants so right is just fascinating.

Fahrenheit 451 is the story of Guy Montag, a fireman. Everything seems to be going great for Montag; he has a good job, a wife, a nice house. Everything is okay, except for the entire world.

A fireman in Montags’ world is somebody who actually burns down houses instead of the opposite. They target books and cook them to ashes with kerosene. Not only that, but everyone who isn’t working is constantly staying inside their house watching TV, being fed nonsense constantly. One day a teenage girl named Clarisse moves next to Montag. In a matter of days she gets Montag to question every aspect of his life, driving him mad (or quite possibly to knowledge).

According to the preface of my edition of the book, Bradbury analyzed the world he lived in at the time (the 50’s), and asked himself “what will the world be like if this continues?”

It scary, especially considering that in the modern age, people are connected to screens most of the time. The themes of the novel are that of rebirth, going against the norm and knowledge. After over sixty years I’m glad to say they haven’t faded into obscurity.

I don’t like reading novels much older than Bradbury’s for the sake of my patience. The old language often confuses me but lucky Fahrenheit just makes it. This was my first Bradbury work and I was astounded by the details and descriptions. Paragraphs would feel like poems interrupted by lines of dialogue. And that’s not to say that the dialogue was bad either, it was actually my favorite part. The interactions between Guy and Clarisse made the book for me.

I’ll be honest, I’m one to start things and never finish (I’m looking at you 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea) but Fahrenheit kept my attention constantly with it’s interesting yet short tale. I tried George Orwell’s 1984 and I found the lore, terminology and overall structure too dense for me. Bradbury kept his novel brief, and I appreciate that.

It’s not to say that I absolutely adored Fahrenheit 451; it’s a great story but oftentimes I hoped Bradbury would stop with the long-winded descriptions and get back to the characters at hand. It could be that Fahrenheit was trying to do two things; make a point and tell a story. I like the latter parts much more and whenever the books spent too long of the former, I grew weary.

Farenheit 451 is a good book.

If you like tales of people defying society and even going a little crazy, this book is for you. This is a book about books and it’s for readers of books. If you haven’t yet, you need to read Farenheit 451.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Hey guys! It’s my first time reviewing a book. I’m on vacation right now and decided to take a one day vacation from writing about games. Don’t worry, the games are back tomorrow! Did you like this breath of fresh air? Do you want more books? Less books? My original idea is one book review a month. Let me know down below and I’ll try to reply. As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

