How Our Gaming Tastes Change

-by Dylan DiBona

As a kid, my favorite games were action-adventure. I loved (for some reason) licensed games from Nickelodeon like Nicktoons Unite; the only turn-based games I could handle without getting bored were Pokémon. I was addicted to Kingdom Hearts 2 and about seven years later Skyrim. I really cherished fun gameplay and a sense of adventure. Turn based RPGS were boring to me, and I didn’t like hack n’ slash titles like Devil May Cry even though Kingdom Hearts accompanies DMC in that genre. But now I find myself playing turn-based JRPGS quite often and I’m liking hack ‘n slash games for their action and simplicity. This brings me back to why I don’t like selling my games: you never know! Nineteen year old me currently doesn’t like Conker’s Bad Fur Day, but maybe when I hit twenty-three I’ll love it.

Image result for bayonetta 2

1 & 2 will be at my house Friday.

Like with anything else, age and varying positions in life can have a critical effect on our tastes in gaming. I know for a fact than I can happily consume a sixty hour JRPG right now, but as I get older those games will be harder to find time for, and then I’ll be looking for 20 hour JRPGs instead. Another example will be this upcoming summer and beyond; I’ll be working a lot more and soon I’ll need to take my gaming to handhelds. But comfort and accessibility aren’t the only factors here at work. Sometimes with more age and knowledge we focus on aspects of games we once didn’t. Hack ‘n slashes bored me with tedious gameplay but now I realize the potential for combos and overall satisfaction of slicing up baddies.

I wrote a piece a long time ago about the importance of trying new genres of video games, to expand horizons. This kind of ties into that, you never know what you’ll like- or in this case when you’ll like it!

I guess my main message here is, don’t sell that game you’re not too crazy about, give it a little more time and who knows what’ll happen!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Sorry for the short post today guys but I’m actually going back to work finally! I’ll do my best to keep up the daily schedule. Have you ever had a case where you ended up liking a game at a different stage in your life? Let me know down below and I’ll try my best to reply. As always, thanks for reading.

One thought on “How Our Gaming Tastes Change

  1. This is an interesting topic that I have thought about a lot lately. This rings very true for me:

    > I can happily consume a sixty hour JRPG right now, but as I get older those games will be harder to find time for, and then I’ll be looking for 20 hour JRPGs instead. Another example will be this upcoming summer and beyond; I’ll be working a lot more and soon I’ll need to take my gaming to handhelds.

    I was at this exact place about 5 years ago, logging dozens of hours into every game I played. Then I got more hobbies, a girlfriend, got a better job, etc. All good things of course, but things that cut into gaming time. It changed the types of games I like, but mostly it made me ignore huge games. I just don’t care about epic games anymore because my attention span also went to hell! No way I would play Skyrim, Diablo III, FFXIV Online, etc today. I may have the time, but I don’t want to spend it on walking around. When I have kids in a few years, I won’t have the time, period, and handhelds are probably all I’ll have for a few years.

    I think when you have less time to game, your opinion towards tedious behavior in games changes from “this is fun, I want to keep doing this” to “this is a huge waste of the one hour I have to play games today”. In other words, your more critical of the minute-to-minute within each game. Any kind of grinding for me is simply not worth my time, so goodbye to gear grind games or any kind of old school RPG.

    What I’m more into now are RPGs that are 8-15 hours long and don’t have many cutscenes, and platformers that allow me to play a few levels at a time. Just gotta enjoy what ya can!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

