Accepting the End of a Console

-by Dylan DiBona

I didn’t fully take it in until The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, but the Wii U has been the home to countless fun-filled memories; my friends and I love the little system. After 72 hours exploring Hyrule and putting my gamepad down for what felt like the last time, I was sad. The Wii U was my second big step into the Zelda series, it’s how I played both Super Mario Galaxy games, got into Pikmin and of course spent almost 400 hours playing the new Smash Bros. Simply put, the Wii U is a great console and I don’t want my time with it to end, so I bought Bayonetta 1 & 2, and in a month or so I’ll be getting Tokyo Mirage Sessions. Am I just in denial?

Image result for wii u

When I was younger I didn’t really care when a system became obsolete, I always wanted new stuff; but now I’m old enough to feel things like sentimentality and nostalgia. Placing that ever so comfortable gamepad down for the “last time” instantly gave me flashbacks of playing Super Mario 3D World at 2am with a buddy, trying to get every Green Star. Now that the Nintendo Switch is out and about, I’m going back and bulking up my Wii U collection. Is it a smart idea?

Well, yes! In most cases, whenever a new system comes out, a game store will practically throw away their last-gen games with “buy three get two free” sales and the like. If you want to game for an extremely affordable rate and don’t care about release hype, it’s actually smartest to be a generation behind. I’ve seen deals at GameStop for an Xbox 360 and three games for less than a hundred dollars. Now remember how I said “most” cases? Nintendo isn’t like that. I’m not sure if it’s a tight grip from the company themselves or game stores realizing that Nintendo is a quality brand, but their games stay at a high forty dollars or more mostly. Collecting for their older systems may be a headache, so make sure you definitely want to.

Another reason doing something like this is a good idea is, it’s fun! I never would’ve played Bayonetta without extra incentive to fill up my Wii U shelf. It’s another example of how life or feelings can change our gaming tastes.

So will I accept the end of my Wii U? Not quite yet. I’m pretty sure the Breath of the Wild story DLC at the end of the year will be the true finale for Nintendo’s little console.


So guys have there ever been any systems you clung onto for dear life? Let me know down below and I’ll try my best to reply! As always, thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “Accepting the End of a Console

  1. Yeah, I the same. I’m currently embarking on a Wii U Farewell Tour – prioritising my Wii U To-Play pile over the others – and, honestly, I’m loving it. I kind of took it for granted before, I think, but now it’s been superseded, I’m appreciating just how cool it actually is (and I’m currently more than a little bit addicted to Twilight Princess….)!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know just what you mean about stocking up when consoles are on their way out. I’ve been buying up every Vita game I can get my hands on ever since Sony practically announced that they’re not producing anymore in the west and dropping all support. Doing the same with the 3DS as well! Nintendo things always stay expensive, and only get more pricey as inventory runs out!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hey, just wanted to say thanks so much for the follow, and I’m following you back as well! 🙂 Looking forward to reading your articles!

    This is a great post. For me, I don’t ever consider it the end of a console just because a new console is released! Like you, I enjoy getting cheaper last-gen games and besides, I have an enormous backlog of games, so I always have something to play! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not really. I can understand the feeling of clinging to a console, but I have never done it. Sure, I will go back to my older consoles occasionally, but I replacing them with a new one is no big deal to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

