100TH ARTICLE: How Was the First Half of 2017?

-by Dylan DiBona

Another day, another celebration! After recently hitting one hundred followers, I am currently writing my one hundredth article on this site! I was watching an old IGN podcast and one of the questions they answered was “How do I get a job in gaming journalism?” Their answer; “Do it every day.”

So I took that challenge and here we are, one hundred articles. I hope my topics stay fresh for you readers; sometimes I wonder just how many topics I can write about when it comes to video games, turns out a lot.

2017 was really the “rebirth” for my page. My daily blogging schedule pulled more people in and ensured within me my passion for writing about games. So it’s only fitting that I look back on what 2017 brought to us in the world of gaming. More specifically, the games I was looking forward to per system. It just so happened that my most anticipated video games of 2017 came out in the early months. So let’s discuss  them alongside any other game I purchased this year.


Persona 5

The fifth entry in the Persona series was not a let-down. In fact it was a genre defining title, the first JRPGs had seen in a long time. We’re talking gorgeous oozing of aesthetics within the art style, music, menus and more. We’re talking social commentary within the story, and most importantly we’re talking about making friends and strengthening bonds. Never have I seen a new entry in a series blow the older games out of the water so much. Persona 5 easily breaks into the category as one of my favorite games ever made, and with the power of hindsight it only gets a higher and higher place.

Image result for persona  5


The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

I’ve spoken about this game extensively, especially in my Five Best The Legend of Zelda Games article.

It’s amazing, it’s freedom, and it’s wonderment.

I didn’t like it quite as much as Persona 5, but this game alongside P5 are absolute gaming history. If you want to see my review on Breath of the Wild, click here. Or here for my Persona 5 review.


Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadow of Valentia

Image result for shadows of valentia

Fire Emblem is the only series I know where the game can actually beat you, and not vice versa. Because of my quickness to action, I had a few teammates die, and I’ve decided to take a break after twenty-one hours of playtime. Within those hours I adored the strategic gameplay, retro throwbacks to the original game this remade, and genuinely interesting story. I’ll go back to it one day because I love it in its own way, but this ranks at the bottom of my most anticipated trio.

Now how about the games I didn’t plan on buying months before in advance? Did I get any surprise hits this year?


Horizon Zero Dawn

Unfortunately genre burnout is a thing; after seventy-two hours in Breath of the Wild, I grew weary of giant landscapes and fighting monsters. I really enjoyed my short time with Horizon; after going towards niche or retro games, it was oddly refreshing going back to a more typical and modern game with designs similar to Assassins Creed.

I’ll be going back to Horizon soon for it’s stunning landscapes, great story and simple combat.


Yooka-Laylee

As a huge Banjo-Kazooie and Super Mario 64 fan, I had to get this game. It received lukewarm reception from critics, but for fellow fans and myself, I loved it. It was charming and fun, but most importantly it was exactly what was promised in its Kickstarter campaign.

Image result for yooka layle

My review is here.


Emily is Away Too

I won’t say anything because my review drops tomorrow, but it’s good. Like really good.


And so that wraps up every game I bought that released this year so far! There are still a lot of experiences to look forward to in 2017. Let me know what you guys think of this year in terms of gaming. Like I said in my 100 followers post, thank you so much for sticking with me, it means the world to me.

3 thoughts on “100TH ARTICLE: How Was the First Half of 2017?

  1. First off, congratulations on your 100th article! Personally, 2017 has been good for me thanks to the Switch, but it’s true that so many great games have come out already: Breath of the Wild, Persona 5, Horizon. These have all been praised by many, and although I haven’t played all of them yet (just BotW so far), it’s amazing that developers are pushing the limits with what they can do to make jaw-droppingly amazing games. Keep up the great articles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations. That’s a hell of a milestone!
    I’ve not played any that you’ve mentioned other that Yooka-Laylee. I’ve played a few games that I’ve really enjoyed though. It’s been a pretty good start to the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoa, congrats on the milestone! Your consistent writing schedule is awesome and I look forward to the new posts 🙂

    I can’t wait to try Yookah-Laylee, but I’m waiting for a release on the Switch, specifically a physical one. From what I’ve seen, it looks pretty awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

