The Future of This Blog + A Brief Hiatus

-by Dylan DiBona

I’m not the type of person to stay satisfied for too long after I’ve achieved something, I’m addicted to the sense of progression. True be told, PlayingWithThoughts is a bigger success than I first imagined. I’m not hitting a hundred views a day, but the usual twenty to thirty is absolutely more than appreciated. The daily blogs can’t stop, they keep this page relevant and growing.

But I’m tired.

Image result for exhausted

I want to do a lot of things in my lifetime and maybe it’s just the over-aspiration of a nineteen year old, but I’d like to write books, for a TV show and the king of all dreams: direct a video game.

I’m working on the first of those items, a book. I promised myself I’d write two-thousand words a day on my fiction novel. I realized that trying to stay inspired for two-thousand words, and then a five-hundred to one thousand word article for this blog, all after working an eight hour shift in Manhattan is tiring.

What is my next step?

I’m not sure if WordPress is the right platform for this, but on top of all those aforementioned goals, I want to be a gaming journalist. I don’t want to just discuss games in the usual “Review” or “Top 10” format, sure I like to do those, but I want to speak about either design or the human connection we have to video games.

I would love to branch out and maybe have a connecting YouTube channel, official social media, and find someway to make a living off of doing what I love. We live in a world where reading online isn’t fun to most people; in a world where most just care about the very same reviews and countdown lists I spoke of before. Pushing this idea into a professional territory is going to be hard and I need time to think.

I want to interview people, I even emailed the developer of Emily is Away for a ten question interview, but was ignored (unsurprisingly, I don’t blame him).

Most importantly, I think I want an actual team here. I started this blog with some very not-dedicated friends of mine and then moved onto a solo venture with daily articles. I’d love to have even one more writer right now, maybe build up a small crew.

As long as I’m here, PlayingWithThoughts will be different from other gaming sites. Everybody knows chocolate with peanut-butter is good, there are a million people making it; I want to make chocolate with honey, a bit sweeter and unorthodox.

Where is this going?

I will be taking a brief hiatus, possibly a little over a week. Don’t worry, I’ll still be writing stuff for when I come back, and tomorrow I will have another edition of “In Case You Missed It”. I just need some time to figure out how to make chocolate with honey.


If you guys are interested in maybe helping me by giving me some interview practice, or if you’re even curious about writing for this blog, let me know in the comments below and I’ll try my best to reply! As always, thanks for reading. See you soon.

16 thoughts on “The Future of This Blog + A Brief Hiatus

  1. More power to you! That sounds like an excellent plan, and I hope you find what you’re looking for. Take as much time as you need, and come back better than ever! I wish you the best, and hope to see you soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean about getting tired, it looks like we share a few more things in common, like the working all day in Manhattan! If I wasn’t able to get some blogging done in between workloads, I probably wouldn’t get it done at all. Daily posts especially is pretty intense to handle if you already have a full time job.

    Between work, and whatever else you do with your time, it can quickly get tiring. But taking a break and ‘taking mental inventory’ sounds like a good idea, to figure out how to turn a blog into the next big step towards your goals. Had many thoughts like that myself lately, just haven’t figured out where to go with it either.

    Best of luck finding what you’re looking for! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shoot, where do you find the motivation to begin with? That’s a lot on your plate!
    Looks like you’re off to a great start though! I’d offer my services, but I can barely get my own blog off the ground at this point, lol. But if you ever want to interview a newbie Twitch streamer trying to make her way in the internet world, well, y’know, I might happen to know a person ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I’d say keep up the great work and don’t feel bad about taking some time to recharge! I look forward to seeing your future endeavors! (Also, don’t mind me if I peruse through your backlog; I’m new here and awfully curious!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might take you up on that offer as it could benefit us both! I need a few days to gather my thoughts but I’ll shoot you a message here in the comments. I’ll be posting an “In Case You Missed It” tomorrow, which is just a compilation of some blogs I’ve written in the last month, that might help you catch up ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 19? At the risk of sounding like an old and out-of-touch fart (that’s an image, isn’t it?), I think you more than deserve a moment to sit back and think about your future direction. Even if you weren’t 19, it’s good to step back and reassess sometimes.

    While I’m fruitlessly trying to grow AmbiGaming, I’d be more than happy to guest blog occasionally if that’s something you’d be interested in. It’s hard to carve out your own place, so if I come across any amazing marketing advice, I’ll send it your way!

    And don’t worry, once you have a clear destination in mind, the path might look a little clearer, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really respect the drive you have to continually push yourself! It’s rare to see that especially in someone so young. Enjoy your break and all the best with the future of the blog, can’t wait to see what it grows into. I’d also be happy to help out in any way or if you ever need a guest blog ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am very interested in your blog and I would also like to help you out I have recently started a blog of my own too – thegamingbloke and I can also at times guest blog I you’d like. I wish you best of luck for your future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

