Does the Gaming Market Need More Infinite Games?

-by Dylan DiBona

We’re used to the traditional forms of success in our market; if a product sales meet or surpass expectations, a sequel will arise. It was a way of telling fans “Thanks, here’s some more!” As time went on, consumers berated the entertainment market for endless sequels, spin-offs and reboots; for a decent period of time, that seemed to be all we had. Other than interactivity, gaming has one unique feature that other forms of entertainment do not, the ability to update a product.

There are games out in the market in which their respective developers continuously add more to. For a lack of a better term, let’s call these “Infinite” games. Of course the forefather of infinite games in today’s market is Minecraft by Mojang.

Image result for minecraft

While I’m not a player of present-day Minecraft, I must applaud Mojang for their nonstop dedication to their smash hit. The team had made a literally endless game, and with all the updates and new content, I’m pretty certain that some people would be continuously entertained if Minecraft was the only video game they could play in their lives.

I’d like to know how Minecraft is affecting Mojang today. Obviously they’re financially successful, but are they bored of the same game? Are they scared to move on? Why won’t they make a sequel? We’re going to be focusing on the last question today.

If you took the vanilla version of Minecraft and compared it to today’s version, they could be four or five sequels apart in terms of content. Maybe Mojang has a few masterminds in its offices that planned to have one massive market surrounding a single product. This inspires other games like the critical flop No Man’s Sky and my personal darling, Stardew Valley. Made by only one man, Stardew Valley has grown to have its own big market as well, people were in love with the game so much when it came out, that they bought extra copies for people who couldn’t afford it at the time.

Image result for stardew valley

This makes me think of the Minecraft community, a group of people just building, discovering and imagining. Both of these communities (and even the genuine fans of No Man’s Sky) are positive influences, and I can’t help but feel that it’s a direct cause from these infinite games. It’s nice to not have to worry about buying a new sequel every year, to be able to have a single favorite video game that keeps introducing new things.

While the gaming market may not be stimulated by annual sequels because of these infinite games, it makes consumers happy; which at the end of the day will have a positive influence on both community and sales. Part of me does want to see Mojang move on or just release a Minecraft 2, but I’m fine with how things are now.


So what do you guys think about infinite games? Let me know down below and I’ll try my best to reply! As always, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Does the Gaming Market Need More Infinite Games?

  1. No. I literally read this title and my answer is “no.” I think infinite games are fine and dandy, don’t get me wrong, but I would rather have finite ends to games, rather than long, rambling experiences that don’t tell a story. But that’s my preference! I’m in it for the story! There are plenty of folks who like infinite games, and I’m sure they’d have something different to say!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all I love stardew valley! I just recently started a new game on it again and I’m addicted.
    Secondly, I think that if infinite games became more of a ‘thing’ it would ruin the gaming market for it, they’re good to have there as a long term game option that you can leave and go back to as and when you like while you play lots games that have finite ends on the side, so for example I can jump into started whenever I like but I also have bloodborne and Doom as more temporary games. If they brought more out it would eliminate that long term play effect. That’s my thoughts anyway 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

